# THE PRIMARIES

Held in the Various Precincts of Ogden.

## -GOOD MEN ARE CHOSEN

Unanimity and Harmony Prevailed.

## THE COUNTY CONVENTION

Will Consist. of Nearly One Hundred Delegates. "STAYD STAUNCE BY THE GRAND OLD PARTY"

Such Was the Motto-The Liberal Marement Receives a Scoring-Several Cullying Precipcia Bave Reported Delegates.

Primaries of the Republican party to elect delegates to the County convention to be held in the County court house, July 17th, at 2 p. m. were held in all the precincts of the

In Oxden the meetings were enthusiastic and boded well for the success of the Republican party. Strong speeches were made in favor of the movement to divide on National issues and the fact that the liberal element allowed itself to be whipped into line by the Tribune received condemnation. The results of the meeting are given as follows:

FIRST PRECINCY. The primary of the first precinct

was held in the federal court room.

County last evening.

Sidney Stevens was elected chairman and W. T. Beardsley secretary.

The object of the meeting was stated by the chair and nominations were at once made. The voting was done by acclamation and the following delegates elected :

John Metcalf, Sidney Stevens, Wm.

F. Critchlow, Jas. T. Browning, R. D. Robins, Richard Dalany, Ed. Kirwin, H. T. Snyder, W. A. Scudder, Adam Gledhill. Alternates: J. F. Brummitt, Jas. Stabr. Jos. L. Carlson, Wm. Newell, B. McCabe. SECOND PRECINCY. The second precinct primary was

### man and A. R. Heywood, secretary.

held in the federal court room.

The voting was done by acclamation, with the following results: M.

C. H. McClure was elected chair-

N. Graves, J. E. Coolidge, J. S. Painter, A. R. Heywood, C. H. Mc-Clure, H. H. Thomas, O. O. Howard, Jr., Jas. Beeston, Sol. Gunter, Jas. G. Moyes. No alternates were elected. THIRD PRECINCT. The primary in the third precinct was held in the Mound Fortrock echoolhouse. The following dele-

gates were elected:

were appointed tellers.

of electing good men.

FOURTH PRECINCY. The primary of the Fourth Ward

ris, David Farr, T. W. Stewart.

C. A. Barrows, Ben E. Rich, Levi Billings, J. E. Bagley, M. J. Stone, A. 1. Stone. Alternates: W. S. Har-

was held in the Amusement Hall. L. R. Rogers was elected chairman and John V. Bluth, secretary of the meeting.

John L. Wallace and Joseph Belnap

On motion it was decided to vote by

ballot, the ten parties receiving the highest number of votes to be declared elected. The chair endorsed remarks made

by previous speakers on the necessity

Balloting began and resulted in the election of the following delegates: L. R. Rogers, E. M. Allison, Jr., A. T. Wright, J. V. Bluth, E. Stratford, W. R. White, H. E. Steele, I. L. Clark,

N. C. Flygare, A. J. Bailey. For alternates, J. D. Fife, J. L. Wallace, J. D. Murphy and C. E. Peterson. Speeches were made advising union and persevering work not only to deleat the Democrats but any other party pitched against the Grand old Mr. Allison, among other party. things stated that he gladly embraced

the opportunity of praising Abraham Lincoln in place of abusing Brigham Young. The leaders of the liberal

party in both Salt Lake and Ogden were Democrats and efforts made in behalf of the liberal party were a decided effort in favor of the Democratic party. FIFTH PRECINCY. The primary of the fifth precinct was held last night in the Fifth Ward Inetitute. The meeting was called to order by Gen. R. H. G. Minty and on motion

On motion nominations were declared in order, and the election of ten delegates proceeded with. The following delegates were elected:

of F. B. Hurlbut, Gen. Minty was nominated chairman and G. Il. Dur-

brow, secretary.

Dr. F. B. Harlbut, Frank J. Cannon, Capt. E. T. Hulaniski, W. H. May, Major E. A. Littlefield, John S. Houtz, Gen. R. H. G. Minty, H. M. Durbrow, Thos. J. Stevens, C. C. Brown.

Moved and carried that each delegate be given full power to appoint substitutes in case of any delegate being absent; motion being amended giving delegation full power to fill all vacancies. Delegates will go to the convention

uninstructed. WILSON PRECINCY. W. B. McFarlain and Wm. Sewell were elected delegates to the convention on Friday from the Wilson Precinct.

Marriotts Precinct. The delegates elected in Marriotts were Timothy Terry and Heber Salis-

Dhe Republicans organized a club at the same time. To use the cor-respondents words, they "have an eternal work over. There are not half a dozen Democrats in the whole precinct."

LIBERTY PRECINCY. Word reached this City late last night that Liberty had elected delegates, though the names could not be secured. A club was also organized, filteen out of twenty-eight registered voters algoing the roll. Good for Liberty! How could Liberty follow any other than the Republican party?

Republican County Councilien. The delegates chosen at the various

Republican precinct primaries held throughout Weber County on Tuesday, July 14, 1991, by order of the Republican County Central committee, are hereby called to meet in a county convention of the Republican party, to be holden July 17, 1891, at 2 p. m., in the County courtroom at Ogden, Weber County, Utah, for the purpose of nominating candidates for the several county offices to be filled at the election to be held on Monday, August 3, 1891.

The various precincts are entitled to the following representation in the said convention: PRECINCTS. DELEGATES. First Ogden .....10

Second Ogden.....10 Third Ogden......6

Fourth Ogden.....10 Fifth Ogden.....10 Huntaville..... 4 ······ 2 North Ogden ..... 4 Pleasant Valley..... Plain City..... Slaterville..... Marriott.... Harrisville.... Kanesville.... West Weber..... Riverdale.....

Uintah..... Hooper..... 3

Burch Creek ...... 2

the same afternoon at the same place,

according to their respective council

The same delegates will meet on

and legislative district, and choose candidates for the legislature. The members from outside of the City will also provide for a joint convention with Box Elder county. A. R. HEYWOOD, Chairman,

BEN E. RICH, Secretary.