NOMINATIONS.

The Work of the County Con vention on Saturday.

WALLACE FOR SELECTMAN.

West for Recorder-Anderson for Superintendent of District Schools-Other Nominations.

The County Convention of the People's party met in the court-house, Ogden, at 4 p. m. on Saturday, July 9th, 1887.

The gathering was called to order by Thomas J. Stevens, who made a motion that Thomas D. Dee be elected chairman. The motion prevalled, and Mr. Dee took the chair.

E. H. Anderson was chosen secretary, on motion of W. H. Wright,

W. H. Wright was elected chaplain, on motion of E. Stratford.

On motion of S. T. Whittaker, Geo. W. Larkins was selected as sergeantat-arms.

The Chaptain offered prayer following which the secretary called the roll which showed all the districts represonted except Eden; there were 58 members present.

The Chairman stated that the object of the meeting was to select candidates for the offices of County Super-intendent of District Schools, Recorder and Selectman, to place in nomination candidates for Justices and Constables of the different precincts and to select a Central Committee of the Peothe ple's Party for Weber Co. It was agreed to vote tiva roce and to nominate from the body of the house. Nominations for Superintendent of Schools were declared in order and E. Stratford nominated E. H. Anderson. The nomination prevailed unanimously, and Anderson was declared the candidate for that office. Nominations for recorder were next in order. W. H. Wright nominated Jos. A. West for recorder. Jas. Hutchins placed B. E. Rich in nomination. At this juncture a discussion took place in regard to the time for the expiration of Rich's term of office which was participated in by Messre. Wotherspoon, Dee and Stratford. M. S. Browning nominated Newton Farr for the position. The discussion on the legislative statute and its effect on the office of Recorder, together with other points in connection with the matter, was further continued, Foulger, Hobson, Stratford, Browning, and Watson taking part. Mr. Hutchins withdrew the nominotion of Mr. Rich. It was stated that Mr. Rich refused to accept a nomination for an office in which there was no vacancy; he maintained that his present term did not expire for two years. After that time he might be willing to run again for the office. The matter now rested between West and Farr, there being no other nominations. A vote was taken resulting in 46 for West and 13 for Farr. West was declared nominated.

On motion of Mr. Hobson the nomination of West was made unanimous.

Nominations for selectman were next proceeded with.

T. J. Stevens nominated Thomas

Wallace.

W. G. Cragun nominated David Mc-Kay who declined, when Cragun, after stating his objections to the nomination of Mr. Stevens, nominated Emery W. Soule of Hooper.

Jas. Hutchins nominated John Knight, Jr., of Slaterville, but afterward withdrew his nomination in fayor of Soule.

The subject then received a thorough discussion, every nominee being declared the best or worst road builder and financier, as the case might be. The discussion was carried on by Cragun, Linford, Stratford, Belnap, Párker, Cazier, Read, Etevens, Doxey and Petterson.

A vote was taken resulting in 41 votes for Wallace and 16 for Soule. Wallace was declared nominated and his nomination was made unanimous.

Nominations for justices and constables were then placed before the convention as follows:

JUSTICES.

Huntsville, Angus McKay; Plain City, Lewis Jenkins; North Ogden, Robert G. Berrett; Pleasant View, Wm. H. Crandall; Hooper City, Jas. Johnson; Harrisville, Nathan J. Harris; Lynne, Peter L. Sherner; Marriott, S. F. Halverson; Ogden, Thos. D. Dee; Willson, Jedediah G. Bingham; Kanesville, Justin T. Grover; Uintah, Samuel Dye.

CONSTABLES.

Huntsville, Jas. H. Brown; Eden, North Ogden, Geo. W.

Rose; Pleasant View, Chas. Hickenlooper; Hooper City, Francis M Belnap; Harrisville, Alfred K. Dabell; Plain City, Jos. S, Geddes; Staterville, Jno. J. Hutchins: Marriott, Caleb Parry; Lynn, Augustus Anderson; Wilson, D. N. Drako; Riverdale, Henry H. Child; Uintah, Jno. M. Bybee; Kancsville, Jno. Alfred Bachman.

On motion of E. Stratford the Central Committee were re-elected for

another year.

C. C. Richards was added to the committee.

A vote of thanks was tendered to the officers on motion of David Mc-Kay.

The Chaplain offered prayer and the convention adjourned sine die. Thos. D. Dez, Chairman. E. H. Andenson, Secretary.