COUNTY CONVENTION

Of the People's Party of Weber Nominating Candidates.

The Weber County Convention of the People's Party was held at the Courthouse, at 10 a.m., July 26th, 1884. On motion of C. F. Middleton, Hon. Jos. Stanford was chosen temporary chairman and Chas. Wright secretary. On motion, a committee on credentials was appointed by the chairman, to-wit : C. F. Middleton, R. G. Berrett, and Geo. W. Bramwell, Jr.

During the absence of the committee, Hon. F. A. Hammond favored the delegates with a pithy political speech, reviewing the organization of the principal parties of the United States and in a lucid manner explaining the principal planks of the opposing parties.

planks of the opposing parties. T. D. Dee, Esq., responded to a call and in a fine speech showed the necessity of unanimity in speech and action, and clearly explained that "eternal vigilance is the price of liberty."

He was followed by the Hon. Chairman who, in a short speech and elegant language, referred to the inimical legislation of the past Congress and to its failure up to the present time of bringing about the desired results. The committee on credentials made the following report, whichwas accepted:

N. C.Flygare of First Ward, Ogden. C.F. Middleton of Second Ward, Ogden.

B. E. Rich of Third Ward.

Thos. D. Dec of Fourth Ward.

Joseph Stanford, Delegate at large for Ogden Precinct.

Robert McFarland and James Jardine, West Weber Precinct.

John R. Manning of Slaterville Precinct.

Wilfred Cragun of Pleasant View.

F. A. Hammond and Chas. Wright of Huntsville Precinct.

George W. Bramwell, Jr., and William S. Stewart of Plain City Precinct.

Heber R. McBride of Eden * Precinct.

T. J. Wilson of Wilson Precinct.

N. L. Shurtliff and W. C. Rawson of Harrisville Precinct.

D. M. Stuart of Uintah Precinct.

Caleb Parry of Marriott Precinct.

Wm. B. Hutchins of Lynne Precinct.

John C. Child of Riverdale Precinct.

William Garner of Hooperville Precinct.

Robert G. Berrett of North Ogden.

The permament organization was cffected by electing Hon. Jos. Stanford chairman, and Chas. Wright, secretary. The chair appointed D. M. Stuart chaplain, and John C. Child sergeant-at-arms. It was decided to vote for nominees rira voce. The following ticket was unanimously sustained by the Convention, and promised the hearty sustenance of the people at the polls:

WEBER COUNTY:

List of offices to be filled at the election on Monday, August 4, 1884. COUNTY OFFICES for full terms. Probate Judge-L. W. Shurtliff. County Clerk-C. C. Richards. One Selectman-Geo. Halls.

Assessor—Hyrum Belnap. Collector—Hyrum Belnap. Prosecuting Attorney—C. C. Richards.

Sheriff-G.R. Belnap. Treasurer-R. P. Harris. Surveyor--W. Jenkins. Coroner-Mark Hall.

COUNTY OFFICES for . unexpired terms:

Not any.

PRECINCTS in which Justices of the Peace are to be elected for full terms, and candidates:

Eden—Leonidas A. Britchett. Slaterville—James Hutchins. Wilson—Austin W. Tracy. West Weber—Joseph B. Alvord, Riverdale—Richard Dye.

PRECINCTS in which Constables are to be elected for full terms: Ogden-Moroni F. Brown.

West Weber-Wm, G, Hoge.

Uintah-Alma Keyes.

Parcincips in which Justices of the Peace are to be elected for unexpired terms:

Pleasant View-Joseph Bidwell. PRECINCIS in which Constables are to be elected for unexpired terms: Eden-James C. Ferrin.

On motion the following gentlemen were sustained as a Central Committee of the People's Party of Weber Co., U. T.

L. W. Shurtliff	F. D. Richards
Lorin Farr 📍	L. J. Herrick
D. H. Peery	C, F. Middleton
J. Stanford	F. A. Hammond
N. C. Flygaro	T. Wallace
G. Belnap	G. W. Bramwell
T. D. Dec	James Hutchins
Jno. I. Hart	C. C. Richards,

On motion of F. A. Hammond it was unanimously agreed that the Precinct officers of the People's Party continue in office with power to fill any vacancies that may have occured.

On motion it was decided that the delegates' duty is to provide tickets for the People's Party in their several Precincts. On motion C. C. Richards was appointed a committee on printing. Carried unasimously. A hearty vote of thanks was tendered to the chairman, secretary, chaplain, and sergeant-at-arms.

Adjourned sine die.

JOSEPH STANFORD,

Chairman;

🔪 Ohas. Wright, -

Secretary.