GENERAL DIRECTORY.

- **.**

, n, s.

Weber County comprises all that portion of the Territory bounded south by Davis County and the dIviding ridge between NorthOgden and Wober Valley, west by the castern shore of Great Salt Lake, north by a line drawn due east from a point on said shore to the Hot Springs by the Territorial road north of Ogden City, thence by the summit of the spur range terminating at said Hot Springs, to its intersection with the summit of the Wasatch Mountains, east by the summit of said mountains.

The government of the County is vested in the County Court, composed of the Probate Judge, who is ex officio the presiding officer, and three selectmen, who hold office for three years, one being chosen every year. Regu-lar terms begin on the first Monday in each season of the year.

The judiciary power is vested in the Probate Court , presided over by the Probate Judge, who is elected biennially, and holds his office for two years. The court is always open. The Clerk of the court is appointed by the Judge, and is ex-officie County Clerk.

Elections are held biennfally, on the first Monday in August, in each even-numbered year. Present population of the County,

about 18,000.

WEBER COUNTY OFFICERS.

Probate Judge—F. D. Richards.

Selectmen-L. J. Herrick (Ogden), F. A. Hammond (Huntsville), P. G.

Taylor (Harrisville)

Recorder—Joseph Stanford. Assessor—Sanford Bingham. Collector—Gilbert Belnap.

Treasurer-Robert McQuarrie. Attorney-F. S. Richards, Clork-L. M. Richards, Sheriff-William Brown. Coroner-Mark Hall. Surveyor—David Jonkins. County Road Commissioner-M. B. Child. Superintendent of Common Schools-L. F. Monch. Board of Examiners-L. F. Monch, . W. W. Burton and Charles Wright. Precinct Officers. OGDEN PRIMINCT. Justice of the Peace-C. F. Middleton. Constable-Alma Keyes. NORTH OGDEN PRECINCT.: Justice of the Peace-Nathaniel Montgomery. Constable-John W. Rex. PLAIN CITY PRECINCT: Justice of the Peace-John Spiers. Constable-Wm. L. Stewart. HUNTSVILLE PRECINCT. Justice of the Peaco-W. W. Bronson. Constable—Erastus P. Bingham. MARRISVILLE PRECINCT. Justice of the Peaco-D. B. Rawson. Constable-John Websfer. EDEN PRECINCT. Justice of the Peace-L. A. Pritchett. Constable-Josiah L. Ferrin. UINTAH PRECINCT. Justice of the Peaco-Geo. L. Corey. Constable-Robert Gale. WESTON PRECINCT. Justice of the Peace-Hans D, Petterson. Constable—Thomas Etherington. LYNNE PRECINCT.

Justice of the Peaco-F. A. Miller. Constable-Peter L. Sherner.

SLATERVILLE PRICINCT:

Justice of the Peace-Jas, Hutchins, Constable-Geo W. Stanger.

RIVERDALL PRECINCT:

Justice of the Peaco-Richard Dye. Constable-John Bybee.

HOOPER PRECINCT:

Justice of the Peace-Emory W. Soule Constable-Gilbert R. Belnap.

WILSON PRECINCT:

Justice of the Peace-Wm. Wilson. Constable-Thos. L. Wilson.

MARRIOTT PRECINCT:

Justice of the Peace-Thos. Salisbury Constable-Helon H. Tracy.

Ogden was incorporated by act of the Territorial Legislature, approved January 18th, 1861. Municipal Elec-tions occur biennially (odd years) on the second Monday in February. Present population, 7,000.

The City is situated in the delta of the Weber and the Ogden rivers, and commands a magnificent view of the picturesque valley of which it forms the principal though a marginal feature, lying as it does at the foot of the Wasateh mountains, and within easy communication and sight of nearly every other settlement within the basin.

The City is divided into four municipal wards, each of which is reprosented in the Common Council by an Alderman chosen from the ward by the electors of the City at large, which latter also choose at the same time a complete list of city officials, being at present as follows:

'Officers of the Council:

Recorder-James Taylor.

Treasurer-Aaron F. Faar.

Assessor and Collector-Thos. D. Dee.

Marshal—Alma Koyes. Attorneys-Richards & Williams. Captain of Police-Alma Keyes. Supervisor of Streets-Chas. Welch. Watermaster-Thos, Doxey. Sealer of Weights and Measures-

David E. Browning.

Inspector of Buildings-N. C. Flygaro.

Soxton—Israel Canfield,

Supt. of Water Works-Thomas Doxey.

Modical Board of Examiners-John D. Carnahan, Wm. L. MeIntyre, E. G. Williams.

Quarantine Physician-Wm. L. Mc-Intyre.

Slock Inspector-H. V. Shurtliff.

Inspector of Provisions-David E. Browning.

Chief of Fire Department-Alma Keyes,

Jailor-James M. Brown.

Pound Keeper-H. V. Shurtliff,

STANDING COMMITTEES.

Municipal Laws-Joseph Stanford. Wm, W.Burton, C. F Middleton. On Water Supply-C. F. Middleton,

Winslow Farr, David M. Stuart.

On License-Job Pingree, S. H. Higginbotham, Wm. B. Hutchins.

On Street-Josoph Stanford, Wm. W. Burton, C. F. Middleton.

On Claims-David M. Stuart, Wm.

W. Burton, S. H. Higginbotham. On Public Buildings-N. G. Fly-gare, Joseph Stanford, Winslow Farr,

On Public Works-C. F. Middleton, S. H. Higginbotham, Job Pingree.

On Public Grounds-S. H, Higginbotham, Wm. W. Burton, Wm. B. Hutchins.

Fire Department-Winslow 0n N. C. Flygare, S. H. Higgin-Farr, botham.

On Sanitary Regulations-David M. Stuart, Winslow Farr, N. C. Flygare. On Financo- Wm. W. Burton C. F. Middleton, Joseph Stanford.